Official Blog of G

Online Websites to AVOID

Posted in Global by G on April 23, 2008

Please don’t get lured by the price tag from the following websites (bwayphoto.com, lowpricedigital.com) on the products you are searching, you might end up cancelling you credit card and getting a new card.

I will not recommend this seller to anyone because, I was happened to order a product as i was attracted by the price they provide. Then I realised they will be trying to add additional stuffs on top of that to make their money, how stupid is that.

This is what happened in case of me. I was attracted by the price of TomTom 920T on their website and placed the order on Sunday. Do a search Google and Yahoo show this listing in top for the price of $399. But you will not be able to get the product as suggested.

On Monday I didn’t see any response, so I called the 1-800 number and it said they are closed, voice message was telling me they are open on Sunday, so I thought they are closed for Monday.

On Tuesday I called again, guess what I got the busy signal that really shocked me, after 10 retries and 40 minutes on the hold by the automated system without any music i got a hold of some one and this guy forwarded me to an extension where there is no person and the voice mail box which will not take any message, the extesion is 262 and it will cut you off.

Then i tried another 15 times (busy signals) and was on hold for 30 minutes then some one else talked to me, this guy is real rude.

He asked me if need a dash mount, I said its enough with what ever tom tom give and i have a mat myself. Then he pushed me on getting the replacment warranty, well i denied it because its not worth it. Then finally he tells me The product i ordered ($399) will respond to me in Japanese and the US version cost $449… I could not stop laughing because Am I in Japan or United States?

Then I asked him why it is not mentioned in Website and it the only product listed, Do a Search for Tom Tom 920T and confirm yourself and the price they are quoting is not affordable to them for sure.

He tells me they will sell multiple products and I asked him why it is not listed.

Scam by bwayphoto.com

Then i asked him to cancel my order and remove my credit card details, because they are just a piece of scam bugs with no ethics to run a business.

After an hour, i logged in their account and the order was cancelled, but my credit card information is still there. So I called another time 15 times (busy) 40 minutes on hold and finally the same guys picks up and i asked him, why my credit card information is still there.

He is answering me that I’m paranoid and they didn’t charge me. I know they didn’t charge me, why would they need to have my CC info when i’m not doing any business and he tells me if you would like you go and cancel your card. Then i told him I’m going to report to the credit card company because they are not suppose to store my card without my consent and for heaven sake we are not even doing the business at all. He replies they are in business for 35 years. Man how did these bunch of morons surivived.

SCAM with tom tom 920T

Funny thing is, they were not able to provide me for $399, its now $389…. I can’t stop laughing….

Finally I had to cancel my card and get a replacement card because who knows if this person itself steal this and use it.

So my final word is avoid this site (www.bwayphoto.com) from my investigation i found a related site to these freaks which is (http://www.lowpricedigital.com/). They may have a different WHOIS but you will end up in the same location for purchases.

Both are owned and operated by same people, just avoid these people at any cost. Pay a little more and use the branded sites.

This store’s address is:
Broadway Photo
337 East 89th street
Brooklyn, NY 11236
Phone: 800-687-1740 – Phone line with always the busy signal. Dead extension 262.

To confirm this experience to some one else, Go through the reviews.

Some of the reviews which are closer to my own experience on this site is:

A must read reviews:
==============================

http://www.epinions.com/webs-Web_Services-All-Merchants-Broadway_Photo/display_~reviews

===============================
I investigated further and found these are the possible scam websites:

lowpricedigital.com – Looks like a comparison engine, but it is not.
bwayphoto.com
fotoconnection.com
ibuydigital.com
thenewconnection.com
tvsdepot.com

There are more scammers like these, please share it in here to prevent online frauds. I’m still searching and I will constantly update this.